Vicki and I

Vicki and I met on a website called OKcupid or something like that. I was a single father and didn’t have time so I tried it, Vicki was a full time student living in the dorms so she too tried it.

we chatted for a month or so, we would stay up late at night and type messages. Finally one day she gave me her phone number, I called her and we started to talk on the phone, later we went on a date.

On our first date we just went out to dinner, I thought it was so weird because she was being a “Party Animal” by having a cup of coffee, lol I think it was my first “Sober” date for the time (I hadn’t went on a date since i was 22-ish). the date went well, I even turned down an “out” “Safty” call from a friend. we ate and I took her back to the dorms.

We went on a couple more dates and they went great. Vicki was supposed to go on a ski trip to Mammoth for Valentine’s Day in 2009, we talked about it a couple days before and i told her to have fun. She called me the next day and asked me if I wanted to go out instead, I told her to go with her friends and she told me her mom didn’t want her to spend the money (Vicki was still in school and her parents were paying for it) I found out at Vicky’s bedside last week that her mom never told her that she couldn’t go. Anyways I agreed (of course) and we went out for Valentine’s Day. Vicki asked me that day if I was OK with being a couple, she said she didn’t have time for casual dating, I agreed as I felt the same way.

After this I had Vicki over and introduced her to my son whom was 18 months old by now, she treated him like her own and was great with him.

a couple months go by and she says its time I met her parents, I was so nervous because she kind of scared me with stories of her dad being super strict and protective, not to mention I was 7 years older then her (21 at the time), had a child, was divorced, and her parents being SDA I wasn’t sure how it would all go. Fortunately it went great they were great people and I really get along with her father, the next visit I brought my son and they’ll treated him as if he was a grandson, it was perfect.

For the next couple years Vicki was working hard with school, we only saw each other maybe every other weekend but talked every day, I didnt want to get in the way of her schooling because that was a huge part of her life. At her last year of school I asked her to marry me, she agreed (we talked about it before so there wasn’t really any risk) I just asked her then we went to the jewelers to pick out a ring, nothing to romantic I always felt kind of felt bad about it. Now Vicki is SDA so she’s not too big on jewelry and whatnot no ears pierced even, when we went to the store I had the set from my previous marriage, they would only give me a full price refund if I were to match the price on a new ring, and I could only buy one piece, anyways this woman that didn’t care for jewelry ended up with a big ring it was always funny, she loved it though.

We then got married, we had a big wedding that Vicki and her mom planned, it was great. then we brought a bigger house and she got her year in of full time work at the local hospital. about a year later she wanted kids shortly we had little Kroft then a year later little Owen. Everything was great until a couple weeks ago, ill get into that next. theres so much more ill be adding text and photos to this post forever.

PS i learned how hard nights are sometimes with babies, Owen was up at 1:45 until 4:30 then up again at 5:00 so no sleep for daddy or baby

 

Vicki’s Facebook “About me” section

About You

I am Mrs. Burkitt. I am madly in love with my husband and love being his wife. I am a mom to 3 wonderful boys Jimmy Jr., Kroft and our new addition Owen. I am a stay at home mom during the week and a RN on weekends. I am grateful I can stay home and watch my children grow. I have everything I could have dreamed for. I love my family!

Leave a comment